History of Grants & Fellowships for Austin

The Austin Branch of AAUW is proud of the three categories of higher education awards, as well as branch & member awards, in Austin over the years:

Austin Branch Fellowships at the University of Texas at Austin

An endowment fund at the University of Texas was established with our first contribution of $1,100 in 1934. The Austin Branch has awarded fellowships yearly since 1985 to women doctoral candidates at The University of Texas at Austin.  Mildred Englert is the branch member who completed the endowment, and the Austin Branch contact is the UT Fellowship Chair.

Application information for doctoral candidates at the University of Texas at Austin is available at austin-tx.aauw.net/special-projects/fellowships/.

Recipients for the 2020-21 academic year are as follows:

    • Williamena Granger                          Architecture
    • Caroline Johnson                               American Studies
    • Lucy LaBlanc                                       Microbiology
    • Sierra Mendez                                    Rhetoric & Writing
    • Maro Yousef                                       Sociology

A complete list of recipients at the University of Texas, Austin,  is available at https://austin-tx.aauw.net/files/2020/07/AAUW_AustinBranch_GraduateFellowships_UTAustin_2020.pdf

AAUW National Educational Foundation Grants and Educational Opportunities Fund Awards at the University of Texas at Austin

All funds for AAUW grants come from contributions from members and the public.
Awardees are selected by selected panels from a pool of applicants from around the world.

For information about AAUW’s six fellowships and grants and our alumnae, see also
https://www.aauw.org/resources/programs/fellowships-grants/ .

Recipients for the current academic year (2020-21) are as follows:

Maro Youssef – Sociology

Meztli Rodriguez Aguilera – Interdisciplinary programs
Kenza Yousfi – Sociocultural Anthropology

A complete list of past recipients is available at https://austin-tx.aauw.net/files/2020/07/AAUW_NationalGrants_at-UT-Austin_2020.pdf

Directory of Fellowship and Grant Recipients for National AAUW (starting with 2004-05) is also available and searchable online by name, year, state, etc., at https://www.aauw.org/resources/programs/fellowships-grants/directory-of-recipients-sponsors/.

Austin Branch Local Scholarships and Awards

Upon the completion of the UT Fellowship endowment, Austin Branch started providing funds for other local schools and projects, including scholarships for women students at St. Edward’s University, Huston-Tillotson University, and Austin Community College (ACC).

The AAUW/Frances Malmberg Endowed Scholarship in the Austin Community College Foundation was made possible in 2004 by branch member Frances Malmberg’s legacy. This endowed scholarship is available to assist 25-year old-or older female students enrolled at ACC. Information on how to apply is available at

The Frances Malmberg scholarship recipients for the academic year (2020-21) are
Karina Mendoza and Teri Ruffino.  Each student was awarded $2100.

Here is a complete  list of Frances Malmberg scholarship recipients, along with other historical branch/member awards (including annual recognition of deserving members with “Named Gifts“).